Posted: Wed 27th Sep 2023

Three New Councillors to Join Haverfordwest Town Council Following Recent Elections /
This article is old - Published: Wednesday, Sep 27th, 2023

Three new councillors are to join Haverfordwest Town Council, following recent elections in two wards.
The elections to the Priory and Portfield Wards took place on September 19; Cllr Peter Lewis and Cllr Tasha Jones were elected to the Priory Ward and Cllr Roy Thomas to the Portfield Ward.
Returning Officer Will Bramble made the declaration of results at the Picton Centre, Haverfordwest, following the closure of polls and counting.
They aren’t the only relatively new faces on the council.
The town council recently announced two vacancies on its Castle ward, two in the Priory Ward, and one each in the Garth and Portfield wards.
An uncontested seat in the Garth ward saw independent Chris Black of High Street joining the council, with independent Ed Lewis of Castle Bank being uncontested in the Castle Ward.
The two recent elections of Priory Ward saw a three-way battle between Independents Tasha Jones and Johnny Palser, and Conservative Peter Lewis, while Portfield Ward saw a two-way challenge between Buzz McInnes and Roy Thomas.
In July, six-times mayor of Haverfordwest Alan Buckfield resigned after nearly 20 years on the town council.
Back in March, scenes of pandemonium, including multiple councillors resigning and Cllr Buckfield – as then-mayor – being called a disgrace to the town, broke out during the March town council election of the mayor for the forthcoming year.
Councillor Jill Owens, a decorated former police sergeant who was once forced to resign after falling for an armed robber, replaced Cllr Buckfield as mayor at that meeting.
Cllr Owens, had previously served as deputy mayor, a role traditionally seen as leading to becoming mayor the following year.
Despite there been no argument about Cllr Owens’ fitness for the role, the March meeting of the town council contained an agenda item considering applications for the 2023-24 mayor, with both Cllr Owens and Cllr Rhys Evans – who has since resigned from the council – listed.
After an at-times heated meeting Cllr Owens became mayor for the ’23-’24 year. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Spotted something? Got a story? Email News@News.Wales

More from Pembrokeshire Council

Hopes Dashed for Community Pub at Closed Pembrokeshire Inn

Pembrokeshire Council

Family Given Approval to Stay in Pembrokeshire ‘Love Shack’ Built Without Permission

Pembrokeshire Council

New Official Policy Proposed for Flying Flags and Lighting Up County Hall in Pembrokeshire

Pembrokeshire Council

Online Petition Launched to Save Pembrokeshire Day Centre from Closure

Pembrokeshire Council

Four Days Left Before Vote for Dyfed Powys Police and Crime Commissioner

Pembrokeshire Council

Second Stage of Haverfordwest Transport Interchange Contract ‘Called In’ for Review

Pembrokeshire Council

Latest from News.Wales

Public Consultation Launched for ‘No-Gas’ Housing Development Near Maesteg

Bridgend Council

Opponents of Proposed “Super-Estate” in Wrexham Call for Public Meeting

Wrexham Council

Disused Newport leisure centre deemed safe by council officials

Newport Council

Plans Revealed for Fourth Phase of Rhondda Fach Active Travel Route

Rhondda Council

Fear of Diluted Local Voice in Vale of Glamorgan Community Council Changes

Vale of Glamorgan Council

Smallest School in Rhondda Cynon Taf to Close Despite Strong Opposition

Rhondda Council