Posted: Thu 24th Mar 2016

Special Constables Awarded By High Sheriff Of Gwynedd /
This article is old - Published: Thursday, Mar 24th, 2016

Volunteer Police Officers from North Wales Police’ Special Constabulary have been thanked for their dedication and service. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Members of the Special Constabulary were recognised during the annual High Sheriff of Gwynedd awards evening held last night (Tuesday, 22nd March) in Caernarfon. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Specials Inspector Neale Lewis-Jones and Special Constables Dion Hughes and Lois Owen received the ‘Team Award’ on behalf of the Special Constabulary on Anglesey by the High Sheriff of Gwynedd, Dr Elizabeth Andrews MBE DL during a ceremony held at Caernarfon Crown Court. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

The officers were nominated by the Local Policing Team in recognition for their exceptional commitment and dedication. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Under the leadership and supervision of Special Inspector Neale Lewis-Jones, the Special Constabulary on Anglesey continue to perform well and have become a valued policing resource. They not only assist regular officers in day to day police work, but will also assist in any pre planned or spontaneous events. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Specials Inspector Lewis-Jones has responsibility for Special Constables across Gwynedd North and Anglesey which includes a team of 15 who are based at Llangefni and Holyhead. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

During 2015 these 15 officers performed 626 individual tours of duty, working a total of 4,287 hours which equates to an average of 350 hours per month. All of this is voluntary and unpaid. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Special Constable Lois Owen and Special Constable Dion Hughes, who joined the Special Constabulary six months ago, attended the ceremony to receive the award on behalf of the team. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Special Constabulary Chief Officer Mark Owen said: “The awards are an important way of saying thank you to the officers, and reminding them that they are all valued members of the Force. They all make a vital contribution every day to cutting crime and making their communities a better place to live, work and visit. They really do make a difference to the communities in which they serve and I congratulate them all for their achievement.” ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

High Sheriff of Gwynedd, Dr Elizabeth Andrews MBE DL said: “I have been truly privileged to meet some of the people who are indeed making a positive difference to life in Gwynedd and Anglesey, and it is some of these people that I should like to celebrate and thank at this year’s High Sheriff Awards.” ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Spotted something? Got a story? Email News@News.Wales

More from North Wales Police

North Wales chief constable celebrates reduction in burglaries

North Wales Police

Property Closed For Three Months

North Wales Police

Further Reassurance To All Communities Within North Wales

North Wales Police

Appeal Attempted Robbery Wrexham

North Wales Police

Flintshire Schools Bid Farwell To Their Officer

North Wales Police

Communities In North Wales Reassured Following Events In London

North Wales Police

Latest from News.Wales

Audit Wales Report Highlights Lack of Understanding of Powys Residents’ Needs by Senior Council Chiefs

Powys Council

Former Village School in Carmarthenshire Transformed into Community Hub and Cafe

Carmarthenshire Council

Legal Agreement for Financial Contributions Towards Pembrokeshire’s Bluestone Resort Expected to End

Pembrokeshire Council

Merthyr Tydfil Council to Potentially Transition 40 More Vehicles to Electric with £400,000 Funding

Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council

Deadline for Police Commissioner Election Registration Approaching in Wales

Monmouthshire Council

Failings in Contract Management by Powys County Council Result in Losses for Local Businesses

Powys Council