Posted: Mon 26th Jun 2023

Election of leader and Mayor at council’s annual meeting /
This article is old - Published: Monday, Jun 26th, 2023

A council leader and new mayor have been elected for Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council this week at the local authority’s annual general meeting.
The council elects a new leader and mayor to lead and preside over council proceedings each year, with members deciding that councillor Steve Hunt would continue in his role as the leader of Neath Port Talbot Council for the 2023/2024 period.
Councillor Hunt, who first became leader of the independent council in 2022, was returned to the role at the meeting held on May 24, alongside Councillor Alun Llewelyn who was also re-elected as the deputy leader.
Speaking on his re-election, Cllr Hunt said: “I would like to thank everyone who has supported me to continue as leader for this council for the second year. I accept the role with a great deal of pride and will continue to do my best for the people of our wonderful county borough.
“I am sure we will look back at the last civic year, where we experienced the biggest political change since the council was established back in 1996. Whatever your political colours we have all been needed to learn the new roles, form new relationships, and to adapt. Despite this enormous change a great deal has been achieved in a short period of time.”
Stepping into the role of Mayor for the term will be Councillor Chris Williams of Bryncoch South, succeeding Councillor Robert Wood in the position. He will be joined by Councillor Matthew Crowley of Sandfields East as deputy mayor.
Mayor Williams added: “It is a great priviledge for me to be present here today as the first citizen of Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council for the year 2023/2024. It gives me great pleasure to see a full chamber following what has been a difficult few years.”
Cabinet portfolio positions were also decided at the meeting, with the charges for the coming year as follows: ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Community and Strategic Leadership/Leader – Cllr Steve Hunt
Finance, Performance and Social Justice – Cllr Simon Knoyle
Education and early years –  Cllr Nia Jenkins
Climate Change and Economic Growth – Cllr Jeremy Hurley
Nature, Tourism, and Well-being – Cllr Cen Phillips
Children and Family Services – Cllr Sian Harris
Adult Social Services and Health – Cllr Jo Hale
Housing and Community Safety – Cllr Alun Llewelyn
Strategic Planning, Transport and Connectivity – Cllr Wyndham Griffiths
Streetscene – Cllr Scott Jones ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

By BBC LDRS ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Spotted something? Got a story? Email News@News.Wales

More from Neath Port Talbot Council

Plans submitted for new community centre and café at Ysgol Cwm Brombil School

Neath Port Talbot Council

Study to Take Place into Future of Neath and Tennant Canals After Council Secures Funding

Neath Port Talbot Council

Plans submitted for potential UK record-breaking wind-farm in Wales

Neath Port Talbot Council

Construction of 43 Affordable Homes to Begin on Former Port Talbot School Site

Neath Port Talbot Council

Residents in Neath Port Talbot to be Consulted on Waste Services Changes

Neath Port Talbot Council

Taxi Fares in Neath Port Talbot Borough Could Rise Soon

Neath Port Talbot Council

Latest from News.Wales

Public Consultation Launched for ‘No-Gas’ Housing Development Near Maesteg

Bridgend Council

Opponents of Proposed “Super-Estate” in Wrexham Call for Public Meeting

Wrexham Council

Disused Newport leisure centre deemed safe by council officials

Newport Council

Plans Revealed for Fourth Phase of Rhondda Fach Active Travel Route

Rhondda Council

Fear of Diluted Local Voice in Vale of Glamorgan Community Council Changes

Vale of Glamorgan Council

Smallest School in Rhondda Cynon Taf to Close Despite Strong Opposition

Rhondda Council