Posted: Thu 4th Feb 2016

Montgomeryshire sports stars honoured /
This article is old - Published: Thursday, Feb 4th, 2016

Sports stars from across north Powys have been honoured at the 2015 Montgomeryshire Annual Sports Awards. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

The accolades, which are co-ordinated by Powys County Council’s Sports Development Team, recognise and celebrate sporting success of local individuals and teams in sport at all levels. The event was by McDonalds, Newtown for the third year running. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

The awards night were held at Newtown’s entertainment venue Hafren last Friday (29 January). 65 nominations were received for the latest awards, which saw the accolades go to: ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

• Junior Team of the Year: Welshpool High School – Wheelchair Basketball Team
• Senior Team of the Year: Badminton duo – Emilie/Oliver Gwilt
• Young Sports Leader: Grace Powell
• Volunteer of the Year: Bronwen Poole, Swimming
• Coach of the Year: Lisa Trigg, Netball
• Club of the Year: Dolly Mixtures
• Disabled Sports Personality of the Year: Ben Johnson-Rolfe, Wheelchair Tennis / sailing
• Junior Sports Personality of the Year – U12’s: Paris Schofield, Football
• Junior Sports Personality of the Year – U14’s: Ryan Lewis
• Junior Sports Personality of the Year – U18’s: Lauren Williams – Athletics
• Senior Sports Personality of the Year: Tom Sagar – Motor Cycle Enduros ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Services to Sports Awards were also presented to three individuals to recognise their outstanding contribution to sport. They were: ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

• Dai Brown – Cricket
• Graham Jennings – Karate
• Caroline Orrells – Athletics ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Former Powys County Council Sports Development Manager Gareth Oldham was recognised with an Outstanding Achievement Award after dedicating 30 years to sports development, not only in Powys but across Wales. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Cllr Graham Brown, Powys County Council’s Cabinet Member for Sports Development, said: “This year’s award were of the highest calibre and it just shows how many talented and dedicated sports people we have. ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

“I would like to congratulate the winners of this year’s awards, who fully deserve their accolades, but also everyone who was nominated. We are extremely privileged to have so many talented sports people in the area.” ‌​‌​‌​​​‍‌​‌​​‌‌‌‍‌​‌‌​​‌​‍‌​‌‌‌​‌‌‍‌​‌‌‌‌​​

Spotted something? Got a story? Email News@News.Wales

More from Sport

USW Untouchables End Unbeaten Season On A High

University of South Wales

Girls Bat On To Cardiff!

Pembrokeshire Council

Local Sports Clubs Encouraged To Apply For Community Chest Grant

Torfaen Council

New 3G Pitch Confirmed For Cefn Hengoed Leisure Centre

Swansea Council

Three Primary Schools On Shortlist For Sports Awards Honour

Swansea Council

Barriers To Exercise Revealed

Cardiff University

Latest from News.Wales

Wrexham Council Plans to Double Premium on Long-Term Empty Properties and Second Homes

Wrexham Council

Residents Devastated as Retirement Home in Bridgend Set to Close

Bridgend Council

Warnings of Potential Damage to Welsh Language on England-Wales Border if Pupils Lost to Shropshire Schools

Powys Council

Primary School Pupils Needed for Success of Welsh-Medium High School Transformation, Says Powys Council

Powys Council

Debate Over Cost of Council Bungalows Highlights Challenges of Achieving Net Zero Emissions in UK

Carmarthenshire Council

Monmouthshire Council Identifies Two New Potential Gypsy Traveller Sites

Monmouthshire Council